At the begin of February I got in a car accident. Since then I have been driving my dad’s car, that was the car I used to drive until I was given the Prius.

I have never been car shopping. The only cars I have ever owned were given to me. They were also used cars which never bothered me before. I totaled the Prius so I figured I was going to have to buy a used car. I knew I would get some insurance money and I could use my tax return to pay for the rest. The plan was get a small used car and put down all the money I had with out going over the budget. I didn’t want to finance it. I can’t handle one more bill.

On Sunday my dad offered to take me to CarMax. I was hungover from my winery trip, so bad I was barely standing off of a few hours of sleep. I looked at the cars in my price range but I wasn’t sold. I found a 2014 red Elantra with 38k miles on it. I was obsessed with it before I even got in it. It was a little out of my price range but I didn’t care. After test driving it I knew I wanted to take it home.

I signed all the paperwork. I wrote the biggest check of my life. They put a bow on the car. I took a picture with the car. I showed it off to Jax. I move all my crap into it…. just for my dad to come tell me. We should still go see your friend at the car dealership to see if we can get you a better deal with a new car. WHAT?! If was going to look at something else why did I just buy a damn car?!

I drove the Elantra around for a few days which made it even harder to want to give it up. I loved this car. The color. The size. The feel. My dad should have known that I would fall in love with it and have a hard time giving it up after that. Like a good sport I went to the dealership anyways. I was shown a couple of cars but I wasn’t sold. I liked the Ford Fiesta that would be around the same price of what I paid for the Elantra but it came down to the color. I was not going to buy an ugly colored car that I wasn’t obsessing over to begin with. Finally my friend said “Lauren do I need to get you the red one?” I said yes and the deal was done.

That night I brought back the Elantra. Did all the paperwork again. Was put into a loaner car so that they could transfer my new car to their dealership. I hadn’t seen this new car, well I did in other colors but I didn’t get to see mine that night. I was going to have to wait a few days. I was nervous that I wasn’t going to love it. I was nervous that I had bought two cars in less than a week.

By the time I was on the lot to pick up the car I was so much more excited than I thought. I have my new car Marshall & my friend gave Jax his own little red car so he could have one just like mommy.

