Being a working single mom picking the right daycare for Jax is really important to me. In October 2015 I started touring daycares. I chose three facilities that were close to home. The first one I went to I was obsessed with. The director of the infant room was awesome. I liked every single thing about this place. One of my old colleagues was even working in the toddler room at this facility. After going to all three places I was excited to find out the one I loved was all the cheapest!

Jax has been at this facility for the last 9 months. He loves it there and the teachers love him. He even calls one of the teachers mama moo. His best friend goes there too so even though they are currently in different classes it was still an added bonus. I have my issues with this place don’t get me wrong but it is all he knows so I have held my tongue on somethings so I don’t have to rip him out of his comfortable routine.

2 weeks ago as I was rushing out one of the teachers handed me a piece of paper and said if you have an questions you need to speak with the director. I didn’t read the letter till I got in the car. Apparently our daycare “did not renew their lease.” In less than a month our daycare will be closed. Anyone who has ever tried to get their kid into daycare knows that every where has a waiting list. One month is probably not long enough to get him into somewhere else. Thankfully we were given an ideal option. There is another branch of our daycare a few minutes away that was willing to have the kids transfer there at the cost we had been paying at our current daycare. I never toured this other location because it was newer and more expensive so I didn’t want to be in love with it then have to settle somewhere else. Now with a tuition credit and reduced rate I finally went to tour.

Thankfully this daycare is known as being strict with the teachers. Which is so much more comforting because I know our daycare was more relaxed with the teachers following code. Natasha and I toured together and we are hopeful for this new location. The boys will start tomorrow and we hope this is the last time we will have to move them until they are ready to move on to more advanced schooling.

Pray for me because I am nervous to start over with this daycare. I am scared that Jax will be in new toddler room when he has been in the infant room at our current daycare. I am nervous about him not knowing the teachers and them not knowing him. I didn’t want to transfer daycare because our teachers knew Jax. They knew how to communicate with him and how he communicates. Now he is going to be in a new place with people who won’t know what needs on the first try and that bothers me. I am so thankful his best friend will be there to help him through it. Even though everything will be new they will have each other.

 

I am hoping this is all for the best!

