That’s how long it took for my life to infinitely change.

People seem to be (still) shocked at how calmly I reacted to my whole life changing in a matter of seconds. I remember everything about that day but I won’t bore you with those details. The important details of that day were how calm and clear my next steps were.

It was March 29th, 2015 I skipped my last class of the day to go to the health center. I told the nurse coffee was making me nauseous and that my boobs were killing me. To be honest I thought I was dying of cancer so when she said “let’s have you pee in a cup.. I want to give you a pregnancy test” I thought she had lost her mind. As I waited for my results to come back I started to panic. I have no boyfriend, I am 22 years old, I still live at home, and only have a part time job. I quickly pushed those thoughts aside because there was no way I was pregnant. The nurse knocked on the door and not one but two nurses walked back in. Yep I’m pregnant…fuck. The nurse I was more familiar with babbled on about all my different “options” for a good minute but I didn’t hear a word she said. There was no “options” I am too old to not take responsibility for my actions. I was going to be a mom. It was expected for me to be in shock and to freak out but in reality when I walked out of the health center to my car that day the only thing I felt was peace. I have always wanted to be a mom this just wasn’t how I saw it happening.

That was 27 weeks ago and that was just the beginning of me becoming Jax’s mama…

XOXO Jax’s Mama

